Sunday, May 31, 2015

Colombo District List of the UNP for the next election


Barring any unforeseen changes or inclusions at the last minute, The UNP list from the Colombo District is going to look like this and there are many hopefuls here who are not going to make it, as it is likely that 12 or 13 of them will be elected to represent the Colombo District from the UNP in the next parliament.

Ranil Wickremasinghe the PM is likely to top the preferences, and the others likely to get elected are Eran Wickremaratne, (Moratuwa)  Harsha de Silva, (Kotte) Feroza Mussamil, Sujeewa Serasinghe, (Kaduwela) Rosy Senanayake (Colombo West) Wijedasa Rajapakse (Maharagama) Mujibur Rahman (Colombo Central) Upul Shantha Sannasgala (Ratmalana), Manju Sri Arangala (Homagama) SM Marikkar (Kolonnawa) Mano Ganeshan and Dhiran Nirmalingam (from Colombo Tamils ) Ravi Karunanayake (Colombo North)

The others who will contest are: Priyantha Pathberiya (formerly Kaduwela) Udara Ratnayake (formerly Kaduwela) Niroshan Padukka (Kesbewa) Fairoze (Colombo Central) Jayantha de Silva (Borella) Srinath Perera (Colombo East) Sunethra Ranasinghe (Dehiwela Mt Lav) Leonard Karunaratne (Avissawella) Anuradha Wimalaratne and Daya Gamage.

As only four are Colombo District MPs at present there is going to be quite a change happening and we had better get used to it.

It must also be remembered that due to this tough fight, there is going to be a lot of money spend in short while to persuade the voters, and I trust it is not money wasted as some of it is bound to end up being spent by the losers.

The last four in the top list are going to find it tough, as even Ravi K, with all the bad press he has recently got about his race to make it all by election time, looks like it is because he is not going to make it in next time and he was given the plum position of Finance to payback the loyalty and the work he has done to date for the party, as he is an untiring politician who can get things done, but has negatives, that affect his electability from the District her represents.

As much as Hirunika would like to have come from the UNP ticket and top the poll here, it is likely now that she will come from the SLFP ticket and top the poll there! It is because Dinesh, Duminda, Wimal and Udaya will contest from the Mahinda faction giving them at most 3 seats, and the rest from the SLFP are now past their prime, like Fowzie, and Susil Premajayanth etc.

We will see a whole lot of new faces from the Colombo District in Parliament, and I hope for the better and a more reliable and trustworthy lot than in the past.

Now it is up to the voter to weight he pros and cons of his choice of three of the best to give his preferences to, and will no doubt be spoilt for choice on the UNP list, and will be searching for a name on the SLFP whilst the Mahinda lost will be who has stolen the least from the Country that they will have to choose from! Great times ahead!!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment